Special Correspondent

The panels will be headed by MLAs

Members allege irregularities in the distribution of Ashraya sites

BANGALORE: Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa on Wednesday announced in the Legislative Assembly that a Government Order would be issued on Thursday to constitute Aradhana committees, headed by MLAs.

Intervening during Question Hour, Mr. Yeddyurappa said the Government would also release funds for taking up works on temples run by the Muzrai Department. He appealed to members to utilise the funds sanctioned to the panels effectively.

Earlier, Vishwanath S.R. (BJP) and Congress members alleged that the Government had not shown interest to form Aradhana committees. They also alleged irregularities in the distribution of Ashraya sites to beneficiaries in the gram panchayat limits.

Minister for Muzrai and Housing S.N. Krishnaiah Setty said the Government was aware of irregularities in the distribution of Ashraya sites and promised to take action. The vigilance committees, headed by legislators, had been empowered to correct lapses in the beneficiaries’ list, Mr. Setty said.

Minister for Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Shobha Karandlaje told Nadagouda Venkatarao of the Janata Dal (S) that the department had decided to recruit secretaries for gram panchayats by June-end. The Karnataka Public Service Commission had commenced the process, she said.

Minister for Energy K.S. Eshwarappa informed the House that the Centre had granted Rs. 85 crore for implementation of the Rajiv Gandhi Rural Electrification scheme in Shimoga and Chikmagalur districts.

Replying to Gopalakrishna Belur (BJP), the Minister said Rs. 42.73 crore had been granted to Shimoga district and Rs. 42.30 crore for Chikmaglaur district and the project would be implemented in 18 months in both districts. Under the scheme, power connections would be given to 4,807 and 3,798 rural houses in Sagar and Hosanagar taluks respectively. All districts would be covered under the scheme in a phased manner, he said.