Special Correspondent

Three senior artists get lifetime achievement award

GULBARGA: The Karnataka Lalitkala Academy announced the winners of the honorary academy awards for 2008, in recognition of the lifetime achievements of three senior artists — Eashwarappa Jeevappa “Hameed Khan” of Bijapur, L. Shivalingappa of Mysore and K.N. Ramachandran of Bangalore — and their immense contribution to the world of Fine Arts.

Chairman of the academy Nadoja J.S. Khanderao, who presided over the meeting of all the members of the academy in the city on Monday, announced the names of the winners of the honorary awards and the names of ten artists whose paintings have been chosen for the best painting award for 2008. Dr. Khanderao said that the honorary awards would be presented by Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa in the third week of March in Chikmagalur. The venue of the award presentation ceremony for the ten artists has not yet been decided.

While the honorary award comprises a Rs. 10,000 cash award, a plaque, a commendation certificate and a memento, the artists would be given Rs. 5000, a memento, a plaque and a commendation certificate.

Ten best paintings

The ten winning artists are Shivanand Basavanappa, Subramani, S. Nataraj, and Gururaj R. Algonda (from Bangalore), Syed Asif Ali (Mangalore), Shafiq G. Mashalkar (Gulbarga), Prabhakar Mankaal (Raichur), Aruna Bhatt (Yellapur, Uttara Kannada), K.G. Pradeep (Tumkur), and Muralidhar B.M. (Chennarayanapatna).


Dr. Khanderao said that this year, two awards in the best painting category went for portrait and landscape, in order to revive interest among artists in the two fields.

They are said to have greater market value and could provide immediate livelihood.

This year Syed Asif Ali won the best painting award for his landscape and Prabhakar Mankaal of Raichur won for his portrait.