Special Correspondent

Deve Gowda, Kumaraswamy from Hassan, Bangalore Rural

Mangalore, Udupi-Chikmagalur for CPI(M) and CPI

Second, final list to be announced on April 2 or 3

BANGALORE: As expected, the former Prime Minister H.D. Deve Gowda will contest the Lok Sabha elections from Hassan while his son, the former Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy, will contest from Bangalore Rural constituency.

Their names figure on the first list of 16 candidates that the JD(S) released here on Friday. As announced earlier, two seats, namely Mangalore and Udupi-Chikmagalur, have been given to the Communist Party of Indian (Marxist) and the Communist Party of India respectively.

Mr. Gowda told presspersons that the second and final list of 10 candidates would be announced either on April 2 or 3. “We will announce the second list before April 4, which is the last date for filing nominations for the first phase of elections scheduled for April 23,” he said.

Mr. Gowda said the list was finalised after discussions with members of the party’s Parliamentary Board and national and State leaders. “Though our Parliamentary Board chairman, D. Manjunath, underwent a surgical operation recently and is recuperating, we discussed the matter with him over phone,” Mr. Gowda said.

He refused to react to a question on the party’s stance if the former Union Minister C.K. Jaffer Sharief was denied Congress ticket for Bangalore Central. “I don’t want to react to this. I don’t want to wait for the Congress list,” Mr. Gowda said. For, also figuring on the JD(S) list is the former Minister B.Z. Zameer Ahmed Khan, who had decided against contesting from Bangalore Central if Mr. Sharief was chosen as the Congress candidate.

Mr. Gowda released the list in the presence of leaders of Third Front partners, the CPI(M) and the CPI. While the CPI(M) has decided to field B. Madhava as its candidate from Mangalore, the CPI has fielded Radha Sundareshan from Udupi-Chikmagalur constituency.

Joint campaign

CPI(M) State secretary V.J.K. Nair said the Third Front partners would carry out a joint campaign for the victory of their candidates.

CPI State secretary Siddanagowda Patil said activists of the Left parties would work for the victory of the Third Front candidates in all the 28 constituencies in the State. “Our efforts will be directed towards creating an alternative non-Congress and non-BJP political force,” he said.

Mr. Gowda said the JD(S) would release its party manifesto shortly focussing on the injustice meted out to Karnataka during the past ten years of BJP-led NDA and Congress-led UPA rule at the Centre.


The following is the first list of JD (S) candidates released on Friday: H.D. Deve Gowda (Hassan), H.D. Kumaraswamy (Bangalore Rural), B.Z. Zameer Ahmed Khan (Bangalore Central), N. Cheluvarayaswamy (Mandya), Mudda Hanume Gowda (Tumkur), B.A. Jivijaya (Mysore), M. Shivanna (Chamarajanagar), Subhash Nelgi (Bidar), Babu Honna Naik (Gulbarga), Iqbal Ansari (Koppal), Ratnakar Babu, son of the former Minister D. Manjunath (Chitradurga), Manohar (Chickaballapur), Radhakrishna (Bangalore South), Surendra Babu (Bangalore North), V.D. Hegde (North Canara) and G. Chandranna (Kolar).