Special Correspondent

One lakh EPICs issued in February

Last date to submit Form 6 is March 30

11 checkposts set up in Mysore

MYSORE: The last date to submit Form 6 for inclusion of names in the electoral list for the coming Lok Sabha election is March 30.

Deputy Commissioner P. Manivannan, District Electoral Officer, has said that applications received till March 30 will be subjected to scrutiny and verification and cleared if found to be correct in all respects.

Addressing presspersons here on Wednesday, Mr. Manivannan appealed to the people to personally verify their names on the electoral list and register if found to be missing.

He said that one lakh Electoral Photo Identity Cards (EPIC) had been issued during the last month and expressed confidence of issuing such cards to more number of people.

Meanwhile, measures for inspection of vehicles and subjecting them to scrutiny has been intensified and the authorities have set up 11 checkposts in the city. In addition, the Karnataka State Road Transport Corporation (KSRTC) had established 12 checkposts which are manned by KSRTC staff and would be functioning round-the-clock.

The authorities have registered 379 cases for violation of election code. Of them, 309 have been registered in Mysore city alone, while 35 each in other parts of the district and Kodagu.

Following the seizure of Rs. 10 lakh from the vehicle in which the former Janata Dal (S) MLA Appaji Gowda was travelling, the authorities recovered Rs. 3.5 lakh from another vehicle in the Chamundeshwari Assembly segment on Wednesday. The unaccounted cash was found in the vehicle when the authorities searched it near ring road here. Deputy Commissioner of Police (Law and Order) Vincent D’Souza said a criminal case had been registered against four persons in this connection at the Saraswathipuram police station.

For voters in the Chamundeshwari Assembly segment, EPICs will be issued at the Agricultural Marketing and Research Institute, opposite B.M. Hospital (Ph.: 0821-2416262). Cards will be issued at the Town Hall (Ph.: 08212433431) for voters of Krishnaraja constituency. People of Chamaraja constituency can collect the cards at the Town Hall (Ph.: 08212433430).

Cards will be issued at Jawahar Bal Bhavan in Bannimantap (Ph.:08212491144) for voters of Narasimharaja constituency. For those in Varuna constituency, cards will be given at Old Taluk Office near Srikanteshwara Temple in Nanjangud (Ph.: 08221223380).