Staff Correspondent

Another 46 sectoral officers will be appointed soon

MYSORE: Seventy-four sectoral officers for eight Assembly constituencies coming under the Mysore parliamentary constituency have been appointed and another 46 would be appointed soon to detect cases related to violation of model code of conduct and to take necessary action against the guilty.

Deputy Commissioner P. Manivannan, who is the District Election Officer (DEO), told a press conference here that eight sectoral officers had been appointed for Madikeri constituency; nine for Virajpet; eight for Periyapatna; 10 for Hunsur; 15 for Chamundeshwari; seven for Krishnaraja; 10 for Chamaraja and 7 for Narasimharaja constituencies.

Police nodal officers

The Deputy Superintendent of Police (DySP), Madikeri, is the police nodal officer for Madikeri; DySP, Virajpet for Virajpet; Circle Inspector, Periyapatna for Periyapatna; Circle Inspector Hunsur for Hunsur; Circle Inspector (DCIB), Mysore for Chamundeshwari; Assistant Commissioner of police (ACP), Krishnaraja for Krishnaraja; ACP, Devaraja for Chamaraja and ACP Narasimharaja for Narasimharaja constituencies.

The district election officer also listed out the steps to be taken in view of the model code of conduct . Among these were: no new works under government schemes to be taken up other than drought related works; permission to be sought for using vehicles for election purposes; election related meetings should not be held at government guest houses, inspection bungalows; votes should not be sought at places of worship; KDP meetings should not be conducted; Jana Spandana should not be conducted; plastic should not be used in campaign materials.