BJP workers hope for representation in next round

Four of the six MLAs in the district belong to BJP Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri and Shivanand Naik strong contenders for a ministerial berth

KARWAR: Uttara Kannada district does not have representation in the Bharatiya Janata Party-Janata Dal (Secular) coalition Ministry, which was expanded on Friday, much to the disappointment of the BJP cadre.

Mahesh Naik, taluk president of the BJP, and B.S. Pai, hope that some of the BJP MLAs in the district will be inducted into the Ministry in the next round of expansion.

They pointed out that only senior Bharatiya Janata Party MLAs have been inducted as Ministers in the first round of expansion.

Of the six MLAs in the district, four belong to the BJP. Among them Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri and Shivanand Naik are strong contenders for a ministerial berth.

Vivekanand Vaidya, Sirsi MLA, has said in a statement that he is not in the race. Gangadhar Bhat, Karwar MLA, is a fresher in politics.

There has been a spate of representations by the BJP cadre in favour of both Mr. Hegde and Mr. Naik for their inclusion in the Ministry.

Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri represents Ankola constituency for the third successive term. He was president of State unit of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishat.

Shivanand Naik, Bhatkal MLA, emerged as a prominent leader of the BJP in the district after the death of U.Chittaranjan, who was murdered when he was MLA. The BJP has a strong base in Bhatkal.

Two of the three zilla panchayat members of Bhatkal taluk belong to the BJP. Moreover, the party has majority in Bhatkal taluk panchayat.

Shivanand Naik belongs to dominant Namdhari community.

The chances of him becoming a minister look bright considering the caste matrix involved in the formation of the ministry.

The prospects of Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri of his inclusion in the Ministry look bleak, say political analysts.