Staff Reporter

`If the company tries to go beyond its limits, it will have to face the consequences'

BANGALORE: Science and Technology Minister Ramchandra Gowda on Sunday said that the Government would not allow Nandi Infrastructure Corridor Enterprise (NICE) to function as an estate agent.

"If the company tries to go beyond its limits, it will have to face the consequences," Mr. Gowda told reporters on the sidelines of an award presentation function organised by the Karnataka Janata Sena Dal's cultural wing.

The Minister clarified that the State Government had raised objections only about NICE having acquired excess land. "Even in this regard, if the company functions like an agent, it will have to face dire consequences," he said.

He said the results of the election to the Legislative Council from the graduates and teachers' constituencies would not be a referendum on the Janata Dal (S)- Bharatiya Janata Party coalition Government.

Confident of victory

"I am confident that my party will win a majority of seats in the election," he said.

Pointing out that he was contesting from the graduates' constituency as per the orders of the party high command, Mr. Gowda said: "I am confident that I will emerge victorious because a lot of people from this constituency have extended support to me," he said.


Earlier the Minister, who honoured 32 eminent personalities with the "Karnataka Vibhushana" Award instituted by the Karnataka Janata Sena Dal's cultural wing, appreciated the organisation for recognising the talent of eminent personalities.

"In olden days kings and emperors were honouring eminent persons by presenting them with titles and awards. It is good that social and cultural organisations have continued this tradition and are recognising eminent persons," he said.

The award presentation ceremony was part of the celebrations organised by the association to mark the birth anniversaries of B.R. Ambedkar and Rajkumar.

Actor and MLC Srinath, who spoke after receiving the award, thanked the organisers for having recognised his talent.

The other awardees included N. Thippanna, MLC, C. Ashok Kishore, B.G. Ramesh, Vijaylakshmi Ramanna, Soubhagya Iyengar, Rudrani Raj and Satyashri B.J.D.