Staff Reporter

BANGALORE: The Kannada Kriya Samithi of the Indian Institute of Horticultural Research, Hesaraghatta, in Bangalore has selected music director and singer C. Ashwath for its annual Kannada Kampu award.

The award, which was instituted in 1999, will be presented to Mr. Ashwath at the Suvrana Karnataka Rajyotsava function to be held at the institute on Thursday.

The previous recipients of the award since 1999 include poet K.S. Nisar Ahmed, writer Nagalothi Math, poet N.S. Lakshminarayana Bhatta, and singer Shimoga Subbanna.