Staff Correspondent

MANGALORE: In all, 17 candidates have filed their nominations for the April 30 election to Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency. Thursday was the last day to file nominations.

Of the 17, 10 are independent candidates. Former MLA of the BJP K. Rama Bhat Urimajalu is among them. The official BJP nominee Nalin Kumar Kateel and the party’s dummy candidate K. Monappa Bhandary also filed their nominations on Thursday. Others include B. Janardhana Poojary of the Congress, B. Madhava of the CPI (M) for Third Front, Girish A. Rai of the Bahujan Samaj Party, and C. Ahmed Jamal of the Indian Union of Muslim League. Last day for withdrawal is Monday till 3 p.m.The Election Commission had appointed S. H. Dange as the in-charge of Belthangady and Moodbidri Assembly segments. He could be contacted on 9480682640. He would be staying at room number two of the circuit house, Kadri, here. J.M. Balamurugan would look after Mangalore City North and Mangalore City South Assembly segements. He would be available at room number three of the circuit house (Ph: 9480682641). T.R. Meena would be in-charge of Bantwal, Puttur, and Sullia Assembly segments. He would be staying at room number four of the circuit house (9480682642). Mr. Meena would be the co-ordinating observer. People could meet them to file any complaints at a prescribed time to be announced shortly, he said.

12 papers in Udupi

Our Udupi Staff Correspondent reports: Only one nomination was filed on the last day of filing nomination papers here, a press release issued by Deputy Commissioner P. Hemalatha said. In all 12 nominations have been filed for the Udupi-Chikmagalur parliamentary constituency since April 2. Their scrutiny would be take place on Saturday. Last date for withdrawal is April 13. — Staff Correspondent