The Namma Metro Phase II approved by the State Government on Tuesday will have 61 stations, of which 12 will be underground in the 14-km underground route network of the Gottigere-Nagavara trunk line.

This phase will have two interchange stations — one at Jayadeva Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences and Research, where the Gottigere-Nagavara and R.V. Road Terminal and Bommasandra lines meet; and the other near the Cauvery Emporium Junction at the intersection of the Mahatma Gandhi Road and Kamaraj Road, where the Gottigere-Nagavara and Byappanahalli (Whitefield)-Mysore Road Terminal (Kengeri) lines meet.

The Gottigere-Nagavara line will have a terminal at Gottigere and elevated stations at Hulimavu, IIMB, J.P. Nagar and Jayadeva before it goes underground from Dairy Circle. The line traverses below the ground till it reaches Nagavara for a distance of about 14 km and will have underground stations at Dairy Circle, Mico Industries, Langford Town, Vellara Junction, Mahatma Gandhi Road, Shivajinagar, Cantonment Railway Station, Pottery Road, Tannery Road, Venkateshapura, Arabic College and Nagavara.

Further extension of this line towards the International Airport either as a straight line or via Yelahanka depends upon the nature of High Speed Rail Link (HSRL) to the airport. If the HSRL is to be executed as an exclusive line from the city centre to the airport, Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Ltd. (BMRCL) might contemplate to extend the Nagavara line directly to the airport, said sources in the Urban Development Department.

The 15-km R.V. Road Terminal-Bommasandra branch line will have stations at Ragigudda, Jayadeva, BTM Layout, Silk Board Junction, HSR Layout, Oxford College, Muneshwara Nagar, Chikka Begur, Hosa Road, Basapura Road, Electronics City I, Electronics City II, Hebbugodi, Huskur and Bommasandra. This branch line is completely elevated.

Extension stations

Phase II of Namma Metro will see extension of the East-West and North-South Corridors of Phase I till the periphery of the city.

The eastern extension will be the lengthiest (15.5 km), from Byappanahalli to Whitefield. This extension will have elevated stations at Jyotipura, Krishnarajapura, Narayanapura, Mahadevapura, Garudacharpalya, Doddanekkundi Industrial Estate, Visvesvaraya Industrial Estate, Kundalahalli, Vaidehi Hospital, Satya Sai Hospital, ITPL, Kadugodi Industrial Area, Ujwala Vidyalaya and Whitefield.

The 6.5-km western extension will have stations at Nayandahalli, Rajarajeshwari Arch, Bangalore University Gate, R.V. College of Engineering and Kengeri. The northern extension (3.8 km) will have stations at Bangalore International Exhibition Centre, Jindal and Manjunathanagar. On the southern side, the extended line (6.3 km) will have stations at Anjanapura Road, Krishnaleela Park, Vajarahalli, Talaghattapura and Anajanapura Township.

  • The Phase II will have 61 stations

  • Gottigere-Nagavara line extension to BIA will depend on HSRL