Special Correspondent

HYDERABAD: The police took into custody 61 MLAs, 10 MLCs and six MPs of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) when they staged a dharna in front of the camp office of the Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister, Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy, on Sunday afternoon, demanding withdrawal of criminal proceedings against Kovvur MLA T.V. Rama Rao, who was also among those arrested.

When the group was shifted to Trimulgherry police station, TDP president N. Chandrababu Naidu joined them there and led another dharna.

Former CPI MLAs Chada Venkat Reddy and K. Ramakrishna and CPI (M) Rajya Sabha member P. Madhu also participated in the demonstration to express solidarity.