Special Correspondent

BANGALORE: Minister for Information and Publicity Katta Subramanya Naidu has said the State Government will shortly set up a university for media studies.

Speaking at a function organised to mark press day and the platinum jubilee of the Karnataka Union of Working Journalists (KUWJ) here on Wednesday, Mr. Naidu said: “We will ensure that the university starts functioning soon,” he said.

The Government has named the Karnataka Media Academy as the nodal agency to start the process of setting up the university.

Mr. Naidu found fault with the media for deliberately hiding certain facts and exaggerating non-issues.

“You sensationalise and blow up unimportant issues, but dismiss important matters with a little or no coverage, and this has to change,” he said.

The Minister said journalists who criticised politicians whenever they did not act as per their words, should also live up to the ideals they espoused.

Referring to the demands placed before the Government by KUWJ, Mr. Naidu promised that it would issue free bus passes for journalists. He said the Government had already introduced the Yeshasvini health insurance scheme for journalists and increased the amount set aside for the Journalists’ Relief Fund from Rs. 50 lakh to Rs. 1 crore.

Prize money

Home Minister V.S. Acharya said the Government would increase the prize money for the TSR Award from Rs. 1 lakh to Rs. 2 lakh.

In his inaugural address, Speaker Jagadish Shettar said there was a need for a debate on whether the media was using its powers properly.

Leader of the Opposition in the Assembly Siddaramaiah said the initial fears of the print media’s survival with the advent of electronic media had turned to be unfounded. Chairman of the Legislative Council Veeranna Mathikatti; R.P. Jagadish, Media Adviser to the Chief Minister; president of KUWJ H.S. Sudheendra Kumar and general secretary of KUWJ Gangadhar Mudaliar were present.


On the occasion of press day, the Patrakartara Vedike felicitated a host of journalists and non-journalists for their contribution to society.

Those felicitated with the Hoogar Memorial Media award included Chief News Photographer of The Hindu K. Gopinathan, cartoonist Prem Kumar, and features writer of Vijaya Karnataka A.R. Manikanth.

Director of Doordarshan Kendra, Bangalore, Mahesh Joshi, journalist and freedom fighter Patil Puttappa and vedike president Mahesh Babu were present.