Nrupatunga Award for Shivarudrappa

print   ·   T  T  
G.S. Shivarudrappa
G.S. Shivarudrappa

Special Correspondent

Nrupatunga was an eighth century king-poet

The award has been instituted by BMTC

BANGALORE: Rashtrakavi G.S. Shivarudrappa has been selected for the prestigious Nrupatunga Award for 2008-09.

The award is instituted by the Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation (BMTC) after the eighth century Kannada king-poet Nrupatunga or Sri Vijaya who wrote “Kavirajamarga.”

The award carries a purse of Rs. 5,00,001, a citation, shawl and memento. The BMTC has deposited Rs. 1.5 crore in the name of the parishat in a nationalised bank and the interest accrued on it annually is given to the award winner as prize money.

A jury comprising Secretary, Kannada and Culture, chairperson of the Karnataka Sahitya Academy, president of the parishat and five acclaimed writers chose Dr. Shivarudrappa for the award, a release from the president of the Kannada Sahitya Parishat, Nallur Prasad K.R., said on Thursday.

Born on February 7, 1926 in Shikaripur in Shimoga district, Dr. Shivarudrappa did his postgraduation in Kannada and obtained doctoral degree for his work “Saundarya Sameekshe” under the guidance of Kuvempu.

He taught Kannada at the University of Mysore and Osmania University, Hyderabad. He was Director of Kannada Adhyayana Kendra in the University of Bangalore.

Popularly known by his initials in the State literary and cultural circles, Dr. Shivarudrappa has published 13 anthologies, 12 volumes of literary criticism, four travelogues and edited Sahitya Vaarshika (14 volumes), Samagra Kannada Sahitya Charitre (six volumes) and Samanyanige Sahitya Charitre (10 volumes).

He was chairman of the Karnataka Sahitya Academy (1987-90) and chaired the 71st Akhila Bharata Kannada Sahitya Sammelan in 1992.

He has received many awards, including the Soviet Land Nehru Award (1974), Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award (1984), Pampa Award (1997) and Masti Award (2000).




Recent Article in KARNATAKA

State urges Centre to send team to decide IIT location

Raichur, Mysuru, Dharwad are the choices »