More police officers set to shed khaki for khadi

print   ·   T  T  
B.K. Shivaram
B.K. Shivaram

K.V. Subramanya

Some of them are set to jump into the political fray

BANGALORE: With elections to the Legislative Assembly fast approaching, some police officers have decided to take the plunge into electoral politics by shedding “khaki” for “khadi.”

Two senior officers from Bangalore’s Central Crime Branch (CCB), Assistant Commissioner of Police (Organised Crime Prevention Wing) B.K. Shivaram and Assistant Commissioner of Police (Fraud and Misappropriation Squad) M.D. Diwakar, have already put in their papers. The two are awaiting relieving orders from the Government.

It is said that Mr. Shivaram, elder brother of AICC general secretary B.K. Hariprasad, is likely to contest from Malleswaram constituency on a Janata Dal (Secular) ticket.

When contacted, Mr. Shivaram told The Hindu that he had offers from all the leading political parties to contest on their ticket either from Malleswaram or Gandhinagar constituencies. “My friends and well-wishers will decide the party I should join and also the constituency.” He has served in police stations falling under the two constituencies.

Mr. Diwakar is likely to face the elections as a JD(S) nominee from a constituency in Hassan district, according to a police officer close to him. There is also talk in police circles that J.P. Nagar Inspector Konappa Reddy is contemplating entering the fray on a JD(S) ticket from Chintamani constituency in Chickballapur district, and G. Ahmed Bava, who recently retired as Deputy Commissioner of Police, from Vittal constituency in Dakshina Kannada district, which has a chunk of voters belonging to his Beary community.

The plans of these police officers to enter politics are not surprising as Karnataka has a long history of policemen taking to electoral politics. Incidentally, most of them joined the JD(S).

Ahead of the 2004 Assembly elections, then Assistant Commissioner of Police (CCB) Abdul Azeem took voluntary retirement and joined the JD(S). He unsuccessfully contested the elections from the Binnypet Assembly constituency in Bangalore before he was elected to the Legislative Council. The former Bangalore Police Commissioner P. Kodandaramaiah, who took voluntary retirement in 1996, was elected to the Lok Sabha on a Janata Dal ticket from Chitradurga in the 1996 elections.

Two of his successors, H.T. Sangliana and L. Revannasiddaiah, too entered politics after retirement. While Mr. Sangliana won as a BJP nominee from the Bangalore North Lok Sabha seat in 2004, Mr. Revannasiddaiah lost the simultaneous Assembly polls from the Chamundeshwari constituency as a Congress candidate. Mr. Revannasiddaiah’s father-in-law and former Director-General and Inspector-General of Police, Veerabhadraiah, was the first retired IPS officer from Karnataka to enter politics.

The late Veerabhadraiah unsuccessfully contested the Rajya Sabha elections on a BJP ticket. Another retired IPS officer, C. Motiram, lost the Bidar Lok Sabha byelection in 2005 as a JD(S) candidate. The two former JD(S) Ministers D.T. Jayakumar and C. Chennigappa are also former policemen. Mr. Jayakumar, who represented the Nanjangud Assembly segment thrice, was a police sub-inspector. Mr. Chennigappa, a former MLA for Koratagere in Tumkur district, was a traffic police constable in Malleswaram.

Film star-turned police officer B.C. Patil won the 2004 Assembly elections from Hirekerur constituency in Dharwad district.




Recent Article in KARNATAKA

Revised CET counselling schedule announced

Bringing clarity to the admission schedule for government and government-quota seats in professional courses, the Karnataka Examinations... »