Special Correspondent

Main function was inaugurated by the Governor in Bangalore

Bangalore: The official Suvarna Karnataka Rajyotsava Day was celebrated all over the State without the usual fanfare, thanks to the absence of an elected government and the Legislative Assembly being in suspended animation.

However, the main function was inaugurated by the Governor Rameshwar Thakur at the Kanteerava Stadium in the morning. Mr. Thakur also presented the Rajyotsava awards to those who have made yeomen contribution to the development of the State, its culture and language at another function in the evening.

While the leaders and MLAs, particularly those belonging to the erstwhile ruling coalition partners of Bharatiya Janata Party and the Janata Dal (S) were busy with their attempts to form the government, the Congress MLAs were not as enthusiastic as they used to be in attending the functions in the districts.

In the districts, the deputy commissioners hoisted the national flag, which used to the responsibility of the district in-charge Ministers. Members of the Legislative Council participated in some functions. In some districts, the red and yellow colour Kannada flag was hoisted by them, a flag that incidentally has no legal status. The chief executive officers and superintendents of police inaugurated the celebrations on their office premises.

It was a disappointment for those people in towns such as Bangalore, Hubli, Shimoga, Mysore, Belgaum and Gulburga, who eagerly awaited the change of names to Bengaluru, Hubballi, Shivamogga, Mysuru, Belagavi and Kalburgi.

Except Belgaum, the Union Government has approved the proposal of the State Government to change the names of 10 towns, but the change could not be effected, as the necessary formalities have not been done by the State Government.

A bandh call given by the Kodagu Asthitva Horata Samiti in Kodagu district marred the official celebrations in all the three taluks.

The samiti protested against the delay in resolving the Bane and Jamma Bane land row. Normal life came to a standstill. The protestors threw garlands, trophies, broke flower pots and damaged a tableau. The former Minister M.C. Nanaiah and the former MLC, A.K. Subbaiah, addressed the protesters.

In Gulbarga, the Kannada activists hoisted a flag that did not compare with the traditional red and yellow Kannada flag. Vaijanath Patil, MLA, hoisted the north Karnataka flag, protesting against the discrimination in development in the region.

Writers, poets and journalists, who participated in the functions, were critical of the Union Government for its failure in according classical status to Kannada. Prominent among them were L.S. Seshagiri Rao in Bangalore, who has been selected by the Kannada Sahitya Parishat as the 74th All India Kannada Sahitya Sammelana president, and Patil Puttappa, former chairman of the Kannada Watchdog Committee, in Hubli, who alleged that the report of the State Government to the Centre on the issue was gathering dust.