Staff Reporter

BANGALORE: The Bangalore Urban district administration will take up summary revision of electoral rolls of four Assembly constituencies Yelahanka, Uttarahalli, Varthur and Anekal in the district from November 2.

Those who will attain the age of 18 as on January 1, 2008 and those who wish to include their names in the electoral rolls of the respective constituencies should utilise the opportunity, Deputy Commissioner M.A. Sadiq said on Wednesday.

Mr. Sadiq told presspersons here that only those whose names figure in the revised electoral rolls would be eligible to figure in the photo electoral roll to be prepared by the Election Commission from March 2008 and to have a photo identity card. As such, the opportunity should be utilised by everyone whose name was not listed in the rolls. The revision would be undertaken in 2,533 polling booths coming under the district, including 211 in Bangalore Rural and Ramanagar districts.

As on January 1, 2007, the electorate in Yelahanka was 8,82,171 (4,63,065 men and 4,19,106 women voters); 19,03,156 (10,46,735 male and 8,56,421 women) in Uttarahalli; 7,82,662 (4,16,140 men and 3,66,522 women) in Varthur and 4,70,632 (2,55,992 men and 2,14,640 women) in Anekal.

The revision schedule is as follows: publication of draft electoral rolls as on November 2; time to file claims and objections – November 2 to November 17; special campaigns on November 4 and November 11; disposal of claims and objections by December 7; preparation and printing of supplementary rolls by January 7 and final publication on January 10.

Help lines

Mr. Sadiq said the claim forms to enrol as a voter will be available at various offices where help lines have been set up. They are – DC’s office (22240614); offices of Assistant Commissioners of Bangalore North (22869011) and South (22372042); offices of Tahasildars of Bangalore North (22372050), Additional North (28560763), South (22372043), East (25610900)and Anekal (7829234) taluks; offices of Joint Commissioners of Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) at Dasarahalli (28390686), Byatarayanapura/ Yelahanka (23636671/23636677), Rajarajeshwari Nagar (28602851/ 28601951), K.R. Puram (22614561), Mahadevapura (28512301/ 28512300) and Bommanahalli (25735608/ 28732447), the office of the Chief Officer, Anekal TMC (7830092/ 7829225), and the offices of Assistant Revenue Officers of BBMP at Chandra Layout (22975739), Gayathrinagar (22975635), Rajajinagar (22245180), Sri Rama Mandira (23210121), Jeevanbeemanagar (25203154), Bharatinagar (22975842), Koramangala (22975831), Mahalakshmipura (23318959), Jayamahal (22975845), Padmanabhanagar (22975717), Malleswaram (22975634), Hebbal (22975846), Madiwala (22975646), Sanjaynagar (23601674), Hanumanthanagar (22975742), Jayanagar (22975744), Sarvajna Nagar (22975844), K.G. Halli (22975840), Govindarajanagar (65683045), Banaswadi (22975843), Yeshwanthpur (23573487) and Kengeri (28484216).

People intending to enrol their names afresh have to collect the claim forms from the respective offices and submit the same along with necessary documents.

Apart from verifying the claims and objections, booth-level and designated officers would visit each and every household to cleanse the electoral rolls.

Mr. Sadiq appealed to voluntary and non-governmental organisations to assist the administration in making the drive a success.