Special Correspondent

‘Development projects worth Rs. 1,172 crore have already been taken up’

Ramanagara becomes the 28th district of State

Chief Minister attacks Sindhia, Shivakumar

RAMANAGARA: Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy on Thursday inaugurated the new district of Ramanagara with a promise that he would make it the best in the State in terms of development.

“I had assured you that I would turn Ramanagara Assembly segment into a model constituency. Now, I promise that I will convert the entire district into a model,” the Chief Minister remarked at a function organised to inaugurate the new district, which is the 28th in the State, and also unveil its map.

He said inauguration of the new district, which is carved out of the four taluks of Ramanagara, Channapatna, Kanakapura and Magadi, was only the first round of movement in the wheel of development.

Several development projects were in the pipeline for the district, including a nanotechnology training centre.

Already various development projects had been taken up at a cost of Rs. 1,172 crore, he said.

Without naming Kanakapura MLA P.G.R. Sindhia and Sathnur MLA D. K. Shivakumar, the Chief Minister launched a veiled attack on them.

“This region had been represented by some political heavyweights who were Ministers for 15 years. But you know what was the development in those constituencies. These political heavyweights are allotting dwellings under the housing schemes not on the basis of eligibility criteria, but on party basis. We should end such injustice as well as petty politics, the Chief Minister said and directed Housing Minister D.T. Jayakumar to take up the two constituencies under a housing programme to replace the huts with houses.

He said formation of the new district would mainly help the villagers and farmers as they need not travel all the way to Bangalore for official work.

Low-key affair

Although it was a red-letter day for Ramanagara as it acquired the status of a district, something was amiss at the inauguration ceremony as the enthusiasm from the Government side appeared to be lacking at the function. Of the 33 Ministers (including the Deputy Chief Minister) who had been invited, only five turned up.

Only Mr. Yediyurappa and Jagadish Shettar represented the BJP, while a large number of Janata Dal (S) Ministers did not attend.

The inauguration programme too did not match the earlier programmes held in this Assembly constituency in terms of grandeur, crowd turnout and enthusiasm.

It appeared like any other programme.