Special Correspondent

  • Of the 214 local bodies, elections will be held in only 206
  • Commission has given assurance to High Court that the polls will be completed next month

    GULBARGA: State Election Commissioner M.R. Hegde on Wednesday declared that the process of completing elections to 206 urban local bodies, including four city corporations, would be completed by the second week of May.

    Addressing presspersons here after holding a regional-level review with the senior officials of Gulbarga, Raichur, Bijapur, Bidar and Bellary districts, Mr. Hegde said out of the 214 local bodies, including six city corporations, polls would be held only in 206, including four city corporations. In the remaining eight local bodies, including the city corporations in Bangalore and Mangalore, elections could not be held due to various reasons, including cases pending in courts and the term of office of the local bodies not ending.

    Mr. Hegde said that the calendar of events for the elections in 206 urban local bodies would be issued well in advance.

    The commission had given an assurance to the Karnataka High Court that the elections to the local bodies would be completed by the second week of May.

    He said the Election Commission had decided to use ballot papers instead of electronic voting machines due to the practical difficulties in procuring the required number of machines and feeding all the details into them.The commission had started the process of conducting regional level review with senior officers of the district administration.

    Mr. Hegde said the first regional-level review was held in Mysore. On Thursday, a similar meeting covering the Belgaum region would be held in Hubli, followed by one in Bangalore region, in Bangalore on April 7.

    Mr. Hegde said immediately after completing the election process of urban bodies, the commission would announce the dates of byelection to the vacant posts in the zilla, taluk and gram panchayats. Under Secretary, State Election Commission, H.S. Udayshankar was present along with the deputy commissioners of Bellary, Gulbarga, Bijapur and Raichur at the meeting. Bidar district was not represented at the meeting, and no reason was given for the absence of the district officials.