Staff Correspondent

MYSORE: For the first time, the Dakshina Kannada-based Deraje Seetharamaiah Commemoration Committee, which conferred the prestigious "Deraje Award" to those who have made significant contribution to the field of Yakshagana, is conferring the award on a writer. This year the award will be presented to well-known writer S.L. Bhyrappa.

The committee had earlier conferred the award on exponents in Yakshagana such as Sheni Gopalakrishna Bhat, Kerekai Krishna Bhat, Vidwan Ranganatha Sharma, Polya Dejappa Shetty, Bhadragiri Achyut Das, Malpe Ramadasa Samaga and Perla Krishna Bhat.

Dr. Bhyrappa will be presented the award at a function here on Saturday.

Convener of the committee Srikar Bhat told The Hindu that, besides an exponent in "Talamaddale" form (Yakshagana), Deraje Seetharamaiah was a writer. Dr. Bhyrappa's "Parva" reconstructed Mahabharatha from sociological and anthropological angle, through metaphors. There were similarities in the thinking of both the writers and in view of this, Bhyrappa had been chosen for the award.