Special Correspondent

There are 1.35 crore Telugu-speaking people in Karnataka

Plea to set up Kannada Chair in Sri Krishnadevaraya University

BANGALORE: The Karnataka Telugu Academy (KTA) has urged the Andhra Pradesh Legislative committee to have more reciprocal academic programmes with Karnataka and create a conducive atmosphere for both Telugu and Kannada to develop in each other endemic areas.

The KTA submitted a memorandum to chairman of the committee A. Chakrapani who is also the Chairman of the Legislative Council of that State. Chairman of the KTA A. Radhakrishna Raju presented the memorandum at function held here on Thursday.

The KTA memorandum has asked the committee to pressure the Andhra Pradesh Government to set up a Kannada Chair in Sri Krishnadevaraya University in Anantapur and also facilitate establishment of Telugu Chair in Hampi University.

The memorandum stated that there were a few professional colleges for linguistic minorities in the country and there were six such colleges in Karnataka.

In those colleges, 80 per cent of the seats were reserved for linguistic minorities, but many of the colleges were not transparent in following the guidelines issued by the central government.

The memorandum urged the committee to request the government to direct those colleges to publish the list of the admissions made.


Other demands made in the memorandum included opening of Telugu primary and higher primary schools in all places populated by 15 per cent Telugu speaking people and introduce Telugu as third language in those schools where there did not have Telugu medium of instruction.

Mr. Raju stated that there were 1.35 crore Telugu speaking people in Karnataka and they were thickly populated in Bangalore city and rural districts, Kolar, Bellary, Raichur, Chitradurga, and Tumkur where special educational facilities were needed for Telugu-speaking people he added.

Replying to the memorandum, Mr. Chakrapani said he would discuss the issue with the members of the committee and make a recommendation to the Government. Other members of the committee who were present included P. Sambashivaraju, Kamalakar Rao, Revu Rathna Kumari and Lakshmikantha Rao (all MLAs), and R. Padmajaru and Palle Raghunath Reddy (MLCs).