Staff Correspondent

Congress makes comeback in three segments; BJP wins 2 seats

Bandeppa Kashempur is the only JD(S) candidate who has won

None of the independents could make an impact

BIDAR: The Janata Dal (Secular) lost its ground in the district as the number of party candidates who have won has come down to one from three in the last Assembly elections.

While the Congress has made a comeback in the Bhalki, Humnabad and Bidar segments, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won the Aurad and Basavakalyan seats.

Bahujan Samaj Party candidates have proved their strength in Bidar and Bidar South seat securing a sizeable number of votes.

From the Janata Dal (Secular), only the former Minister Bandeppa Kashempur won the elections. The party’s State unit president Merajuddin Patel and another candidate Mallikarjun Khuba have lost their seats.

Mr. Kashempur had won the Assembly elections as an independent candidate in the 2004 elections and joined the Janata Dal (S) during the Bidar parliamentary byelection in 2004. After he joined the Janata Dal (S), he became Minister for Agriculture in the Kumaraswamy Government.

Mr. Patel lost the Humnabad seat and Mr. Khuba in the Basavakalyan constituency. Both of them came third in the fray. Both, Humnabad and Basavakalyan were considered as prestigious seats for the party in the district. Humnabad assumed importance because a former MLA and State head of a party was in the fray.

The Basavakalyan seat has been a stronghold of the Janata Parivar since 1983. Those who have contested the seat on Janata Party, Janata Dal and Janata Dal (S) ticket have won the elections. Mr. Khuba won the elections in the 2004 Assembly elections and was the youngest MLA. This time, the seat has been won by the former Minister Basavraj Patil Attur of the BJP. He defeated his closest rival Maruti Muley of the Congress.

The Congress had lost the Bidar Assembly seat in the 1985 elections. But it has now regained the seat through the former Minister Gurupadappa Nagamarapalli.The party was defeated by the BJP in the Bhalki constituency in the 1999 and 2004 elections. The party nominee, Ishwar Khandre, won the seat against the BJP in 2008.

The Congress has made a comeback in the Humnabad seat. Congress nominee Rajshekar Patil defeated Janata Dal (S) State unit president Merajuddin Patel. Mr. Patil had defeated Mr. Patel in the 2003 byeelction in the Humnabad seat but had lost to Mr. Patel in 2004.

The BJP has won the Aurad seat after it lost the seat in the 1999 elections. Now, party nominee Prabhu Chavan has defeated Narsinghrao Suryawanshi of the Congress, Bidar MP. Gundappa Vakil of the BJP won the seat in 1999.

In the Bidar constituency, Raheem Khan of the BSP secured 30,627 votes and Congress nominee Gurupadappa Nagamarapalli’s 33,557. Another seat where the BSP has proved its strength is Bidar South. None of the independents could make an impact.