Congress wrests two seats from the BJP in Dakshina Kannada

print   ·   T  T  
JUBILATION: Supporters of the BJP, including Deputy Mayor Shakila Kawa (left), celebrating victory at party’s office in Mangalore on Sunday.
JUBILATION: Supporters of the BJP, including Deputy Mayor Shakila Kawa (left), celebrating victory at party’s office in Mangalore on Sunday.

Special Correspondent

It is the home district of BJP State president Sadananda Gowda

BJP has won four of the eight seats in

the district

Rebel candidate in Puttur defeated by the party’s official nominee

MANGALORE: The Bharatiya Janata Party suffered embarrassment in the home district of its State president D.V. Sadananda Gowda. It managed to win only four of the eight constituencies. It won six seats in the 2004 elections.

The BJP lost Bantwal and Belthangady to the former Minister B. Ramanath Rai and K. Vasanth Bangera respectively of the Congress. They defeated the former Minister B. Nagaraja Shetty and K. Prabhakara Bangera. But the BJP retained Sullia, Mangalore South, Mangalore North and Puttur segments.

The members of the previous Assembly who retained their seats are N. Yogish Bhat (Mangalore South), J. Krishna Palemar (Mangalore North), and S. Angara (Sullia) of the BJP and U.T. Khader (Mangalore, erstwhile Ullal) and K. Abhayachandra Jain (Moodbidri) of the Congress.

The saving grace for Mr. Gowda is that his party nominee Mallika Prasad won in Puttur, a prestigious constituency for him, defeating Shakunthala Shetty who contested from there as a rebel independent candidate. Mr. Gowda had won elections there twice before relinquishing the seat in favour of Ms. Shetty in 2004. Ms. Prasad won the seat by a margin of 1,425 votes.

Mr. Nagaraja Shetty, who was in the H.D. Kumaraswamy’s Ministry and was in charge of the district, lost to Mr. Rai of the Congress by a narrow margin of 1,251 votes. Mr. Rai, who had won the seat four times in the past, was defeated by Mr. Shetty in 2004. In Belthangady, Mr. Vasanth Bangera, who recently joined the Congress, handed out a 16,103-vote defeat to his brother K. Prabhakara Bangera of the BJP, who was a member of the previous Assembly.

In Moodbidri, expectations that K. Amaranath Shetty of the Janata Dal (Secular) might upset the chances of Abhayachandra Jain of the Congress were belied. Mr. Jain defeated K.P. Jagadish Adhikari of the BJP by a margin of 9,903 votes.

In Sullia, Mr. Angara of the BJP won his fourth election in a row, defeating S. Raghu of the Congress by a margin of 4,322 votes.

In Mangalore City South, Yogish Bhat of the BJP won his fourth election, defeating his nearest rival Ivan D’Souza of the Congress by a margin of 8,760 votes.

In Mangalore North, Mr. Palemar of the BJP defeated his Congress rival Mohiuddin Bawa by a margin of 14,426 votes.

In Mangalore, Mr. Khader of the Congress polled 50,626 votes while his nearest rival Padmanabha Kottari polled 43,393 votes.




Recent Article in KARNATAKA

Revised CET counselling schedule announced

Bringing clarity to the admission schedule for government and government-quota seats in professional courses, the Karnataka Examinations... »