Staff Reporter

Bangalore: The Bangalore-based Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) labs have bagged a major share of DRDO Technology Awards 2007 for their outstanding contributions during 2007.

R. Vijay Vittal of the Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) has been chosen for the award for path-breaking research and outstanding technology development. The Agni award for excellence in self reliance was given to four teams: Dr. Raju Venkatanarayan and team; DEBEL, Bangalore team led by Dr. V.C. Padaki; RADAR team comprising M. Shiva Kumar and J. Senthil Ranga Rajan; and S. Vijayan Pillia and team of Naval Physical & Oceanographic Laboratory, Kochi. The DRDO award for performance excellence went to DARE Bangalore.