Staff Correspondent

BIDAR: President of the State unit of the Janata Dal (Secular) Merajuddin Patel filed his nomination papers for Humnabad seat on Friday.

Twenty-five other candidates filed their papers for various seats in the district. Saturday is the last date for filing nomination papers. Prior to filing his papers, Mr. Patel offered prayers at a masjid.

A procession was taken out from his residence in the town to the tahsildhar’s office, where he filed his nomination papers. Mr. Patel was accompanied by his mother Zubeda Begum.

Addressing presspersons after filing papers, Mr. Patel said the people of his constituency trusted him and would vote for him.

Meanwhile, district unit president of JD(S) Baburao Gudge and JD(S) leader Rajshri field their papers for Bidar. For Bidar seat, Dhanraj P.S. Das as an independent candidate and Basavaraj Hede as a nominee of BSP filed their papers.

Sanjay Kheny, Bharatiya Janata Party nominee, filed another set of papers for Bidar South.

Abdul Samad of the Congress, Sharanaiah, Somashekar and Basavaraj as independent candidates and Bhaskar Babu of Ambedkar National Congress filed their papers for Bidar South.

Parameshwar Arya of Samajwadi Party and Ekanath Hanmathappa as an independent candidate filed their papers for Humnabad.

In Bhalki, Nagnathrao Baswanthrao of BSP, Anil Pandurang Busare and Vijaykumar Keshavrao Kanaji of JD(S), Ishwar Khandre of the Congress and Mallikarjun Shantalingaiah as an independent candiate filed their papers.

In Aurad, Mohanrao Lal of Samajwadi Party, Ganapathrao Kadam of BJP and Shankarrao Maruti of Vishwa Hindu Parishat filed their papers. Mitturam Rupla, Ratansingh Pawar and Hanamath Nagappa Lada filed their papers as independent candidates. Milind Guruji filed his nomination papers as a nominee of Republican Party of India for Basavakalayan.