Staff Reporter

BANGALORE: Sex workers and sexuality minorities have been denied their constitutional right to exercise their franchise simply because authorities concerned have been refusing to include their names in the voters’ list.

Sahana, who belongs to the sexuality minority, has been residing at RPC Layout for the past 20 years. However, the election authorities have refused to accept her application for want of address proof. The Karnataka Sex Workers’ Union, Samara, Sangama and Suraksha have taken up the .

Speaking to presspersons here on Wednesday, Union Secretary Geetha said the refusal to include their names in the voters’ lists was more visible in Nelamangala Town, Doddaballapur Town, Ramanagaram Town and Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) areas.