Bangalore region likely to hold the key

print   ·   T  T  

S. Rajendran

From 12, the number of Assembly constituencies in the region has gone up to 28

All 21 constituencies in BBMP limits have sizeable slums

Teams formed to check poll code violations

Bangalore: The delimitation of constituencies has placed the Bangalore agglomeration in an all important position in the electoral scene of Karnataka. For any political party, a majority in the Bangalore constituencies will give it an edge in government formation.

From 12 constituencies in the past, the Bangalore region, roughly spread over 1,000 square kilometres, comprises 28 Legislative Assembly constituencies, of which 21 fall in the Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike electoral district, and seven in the Bangalore Urban district.

If the constituencies of Shivajinagar, Chickpet and Chamarajpet are spread over just 20 sq km each, the reserved constituency of Anekal in Bangalore Urban district is spread over a fairly large area of about 80 sq km. It is of note that all the 21 constituencies in the BBMP have sizeable slums in which a large number of people live below the poverty line.

Political parties such as the Congress, the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Janata Dal (Secular) will certainly target the voters in these pockets. Aspiring candidates have hit upon ingenious ways of doing so — masala dosas and idlis are being served to morning walkers and special chaats to evening walkers in some of the public parks. A complaint in this connection has been sent across to Chief Election commissioner N. Gopalaswami by the former Minister and Bahujan Samaj Party leader P.G.R. Sindhia.

Given the sensitive nature of the Bangalore-based Assembly constituencies, Special Commissioner of the BBMP B.S. Ramprasad who is also the District Electoral Officer (for 21 constituencies) and Deputy Commissioner of Bangalore Urban District M.A. Sadiq who is the district election officer (for the seven constituencies) told The Hindu that enforcement teams comprising senior officials of the BBMP, taluk executive officers, the police inspector of the area and others have been constituted to maintain a close watch over the activities of political parties that are in violation of the model code of conduct.

Mr. Sadiq has said that all political parties should seek the permission of the police (at least two hours in advance) before holding rallies and public meetings. Further, within an hour of such meetings, the political party concerned should also clean the place and remove all buntings and posters.

The 28 constituencies in the Bangalore electoral district are: Yelahanka, Krishnarajapuram, Byatarayanapura, Yeshwantapur, Rajarajeshwarinagar, Dasarahalli, Mahalakshmi Layout, Malleswaram, Hebbal, Pulakeshinagar, Sarvajnanagar, C.V. Raman Nagar, Shivajinagar, Shantinagar, Gandhinagar, Rajajinagar, Govindarajanagar, Vijayanagar, Chamarajpet, Chickpet, Basavanagudi, Padmanabhanagar, B.T.M. Layout, Jayanagar, Mahadevapura, Bommanahalli, Bangalore South and Anekal. Four of these constituencies have been reserved for Scheduled Castes —Anekal, Mahadevapura, Pulakeshinagar (Frazer Town) and C.V. Raman Nagar.

While the total electorate for all the 21 constituencies in the BBMP jurisdiction is 45,24,919 comprising 23,53,841 men and 21,71,078 women, the total electorate of the seven constituencies in the Bangalore Urban District jurisdiction is 19,36,595 comprising 10,31,354 men and 9,05,241 women. April 16 is the last date for both addition and deletion of voters from the electoral rolls.

The authorities have, however, been receiving more applications for addition of names than those seeking deletions.




Recent Article in KARNATAKA

IGP has hand in IPL betting too

The Inspector General of Police (IGP) rank officer serving in Bengaluru who has come under the scanner for alleged links with the kingpin... »