Staff Correspondent

Four constituencies reserved for Scheduled Tribes

Raichur: Deputy Commissioner Adoni Syed Saleem, who is the district election officer, on Saturday released the final list of voters in the district. According to it, there are 12,45,820 voters in the seven Assembly segments of the district.

After the delimitation of constituencies, the district had seven Assembly segments. Four constituencies had been reserved for the Scheduled Tribes and one for the Scheduled Castes and two for the general category, he said. The Maski constituency had been reserved for the Scheduled Castes (ST). The Kalmala constituency had been reconstituted as Raichur Rural. It had been reserved for the STs, he said.

Except Raichur Urban and Sindhanur segments, which had been reserved for the general category, changes in reservation had been made in respect of Manvi, Deodurga and Lingsugur. Manvi and Deodurga had been reserved for the Scheduled Tribes, while Lingsugur had been reserved for the Scheduled Castes, he said. The Manvi segment had the largest number of 1,95,220 voters and Maski had the lowest number of 1,57,782 voters. There were 1,85,760 voters in Raichur Rural, 1,76,488 in Raichur Urban, 1,92,609 in Sindhanur, 1,78,308 in Lingsugur and 1,59,587 in Deodurga. D. Ashwath, who arrived here on Saturday as an election observer, held a meeting with district election officials. The meeting decided to set up 1,235 polling booths in the seven constituencies. Of them, 191 would be in Raichur Rural, 158 in Raichur Urban, 178 in Manvi, 187 in Deodurga, 184 in Lingsugur, 175 in Sindhanur and 162 in Maski, he said.