Special Correspondent

Those who highlight rural problems form the ‘soul’ press: Governor

It is the silver jubilee year of the Media Academy

‘Rural presspersons have maintained their relevance by making significant contributions’

Bangalore: Governor Rameshwar Thakur has said that presspersons who have been active in highlighting the rural problems in districts and taluks and educating people on various fronts form the “soul” regional press, particularly language press.

Mr. Thakur was speaking at the annual awards of the Media Academy on its silver jubilee year here on Saturday. He said that it was heartening to see that a substantial portion of the awards had been bagged by rural presspersons, who had been maintaining their relevance in mainstream journalism by making significant contributions while struggling against umpteen odds.

Mr. Thakur said that the State had made envious achievements in various fields and had earned a reputation because of the positive role played by the media.

Delivering a special lecture on the occasion, Union Minister S. Jaipal Reddy said that the print media should concentrate on serious journalism and factual and scrupulous reporting. It had a responsibility to correct and guide politicians for saving the sanity and sanctity of public life, he added.

Despite its shortcomings and moral and intellectual challenges before it, print media should not emulate television reporting and fell prey to glamour, particularly on the front page, for luring readers, Mr. Reddy said.

The Chairman of the Legislative Council B.K. Chandrashekhar, Chairman of the Academy V.N. Subba Rao and the Principle Secretary to the Department of Information I.M. Vittalamurthy spoke on the occasion.


Besides the 29 presspersons honoured for its 2007 awards, including art critic S.N. Chadrashekhar, former editors of Kannada weeklies Taranga and Sudha, Santoshkumar Gulvadi and Nagesh Hegde, respectively, and the editor of weekly tabloid Hai Bangalore, Ravi Belagere, the Media Academy conferred a special award on Delhi- based columnist Girish Nikkam in recognition of his contribution to State journalism for the past 25 years.

The Andolana award was presented to the Mangalore-based Kannada daily Kannada Janataranaga, Abhimani award to Y.Ga. Jagadish (Reporter-Udayavani-Bangalore), Mysoru Digantha award to Mallikarjuna Siddannavara (Chief Reporter- Kannada Prabha- Hubli), best front page designing to Kannada Prabha daily, best cartoonist to P. Mohammad (Prajavani- Bangalore), best rural reporting to Kudekal Santosh (Shakti-Madikeri) and the best investigative reporting to G. Prakash (Vijaya Karnataka-Hassan).

The best news photograph award went to K.R. Prakash (Samyukta Karnataka- Sirsi), best sports reporting to Vikaram Kanthikere (Andolana-Mysore), best political reporting P. Thyagaraj (Vijaya Karnataka- Bangalore), best moderator to B. Samiullah (Udaya TV), best news reader to Gowrish S. Akki (TV 9 Kannada), best news feature on rural problems award to J.M. Chandunavar (Chandana channel), best news feature on crime to Karanam Ramesh (Kasturi channel) and the best feature on women award went to Radhika Rani (TV9 Kannada).