Special Correspondent

The post is being claimed by two councillors

BJP has 19 seats in 35-member Shimoga CMC

Vice-president’s post reserved for BC woman

SHIMOGA: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is all set to come to power in the 35-member Shimoga City Municipal Council (CMC) by winning 19 seats. However, there has been no finality yet on its nominee for the post of CMC president owing to the lack of unanimity over the issue.

The elections for the posts of president and vice-president of the CMC will be held on February 22.

The post of president, which has been reserved for general category candidate, is being claimed by two councillors N.J. Subhash and M. Shankar who are the prominent leaders of BJP. The party has constituted a committee comprising leaders such as former Ministers K.S. Eshwarappa and D.H. Shankarmurthy, former Shimoga MP Ayanur Manjunath and former Municipal president R.K. Siddharamanna to sort out the issue, though there appears to be a consensus in the party circles that the 30-month term be shared by Mr. Subhash and Mr. Shankar. But there is no decision yet on who should don the president’s post first.

Sources favouring the candidature of Mr. Shankar argue that he be given the chance first to become the president in appreciation of the fact that there had been no Brahmin candidate for that post in the last 30 years.

However, the BJP is forced to forego its claim for the vice-president’s post which is reserved for the Backward Classes woman as there is none in that party belonging to that category.

As such, two Independent candidates get the chance to share the post for 15 months each.