Special Correspondent

Bangalore: The Karnataka Sahitya Anuvada Academy has selected centenarian scholar Sudhakar Chaturvedi, septuagenarian Telugu-Kannada writer Gurumurthy Pendakur, former professor of Kannada B.N. Chandraiah, septuagenarian writer Basavaraj Puranik and journalist Sarjoo Katkar for its honorary awards for 2007-08.

It has also selected Eshwarachandra (from Hindi to Kannada), Hasan Nayim Surakoda (Urdu to Kannada), Snehalatha Rohdikar (Oriya to Kannada), K.M. Seethramaiah (Virgil’s Aeneid) and K. Venkataraju (Hindi to Kannada) for its annual book (translation) awards.

Announcing the awards, chairman of the academy Pradhan Gurudatt told presspersons here on Wednesday that the honorary awards would carry a cash prize of Rs. 10,000 and the book awards would carry a purse of Rs. 5,000 each. Besides this, all the award winners would be presented a memento, shawl and citation.

Bangalore-based 114-year-old Pandit Chaturvedi, a freedom fighter, has authored over 40 books. He is now engaged in the publication of Vedic texts in 20 volumes.

Bellary-based Mr. Pendakur has translated many English and Telugu works into Kannada, including the works of the late K.M. Munshi, “Digambara Kavya”, “Maragudure” and “Telugu Kavyamale”.

Dr. Chandraiah has authored over 70 books. He has translated Jataka stories from Pali into Kannada in five volumes. Raichur-based Prof. Puranik has translated many English and Urdu works such as “Structural Mechanics” and “The Artists of Inner Life” into Kannada.

Dr. Katkar, a postgraduate in Kannada literature, is with The New Indian Express, Belgaum. His works include translation of Marathi Dalit poems, poems of Atal Bihari Vajpayee and poems of Taslima Nasrin into Kannada.