All set for Sri Krishna Jayanti

print   ·   T  T  
Festivities: Preparations in full swing for ‘mosaru kudike’ in Udupi.
Festivities: Preparations in full swing for ‘mosaru kudike’ in Udupi.

Staff Correspondent

Udupi: The stage is set for the Sri Krishna Jayanti celebrations here on Friday. The temple town of Udupi is famous for its Sri Krishna Temple. Colourful celebrations will mark the Sri Krishna Jayanti on September 11 and the Sri Krishna Leelotsava on September 12.

Krishna Jayanti or Krishna Janmashtami, as the case may be, has been celebrated here since the exponent of Dwaita philosophy, Sri Madhwacharya, installed the idol of Lord Krishna eight centuries ago. Devotees observe a fast and bathe thrice a day during the Krishna Jayanti. They offer “arghya” to Lord Krishna by offering water through a conch and “bilva” leaves at midnight. The idol of Lord Krishna would be decorated with flowers at the Sri Krishna Temple/Math.

There would be “Akhand Bhajane” at the Sri Krishna Temple/Math at 8 a.m. on Friday. The “Lakshaarchane” would be held at 8.30 a.m, while the “Mahapooja” would be held at 10 a.m. The “Anna Santharpane” would be held at 11 a.m. The “Arghya Pradhana” ritual would take place at 11.45 p.m.

Krishna Leelotsava

Krishna Leelotsava or Vittal Pindi will be celebrated on Saturday. Vittal Pindi is derived from “Vittala,” one of the names of Lord Krishna, while “pindi” means a vessel or pot containing milk, curds or butter.

The Vittal Pindi procession starts at 3.30 p.m. A “ratha” carries the “utsava murthi” of Lord Krishna around the Car Street. Mud pots containing milk and milk products are hung over 15 specially constructed wooden stands or “gopuras” at different points.

Men dressed as “Yadavas” break these pots, which is known as “Mosuru Kudike”. They are cheered by a large number of devotees.

The seers of Ashta Maths distribute eatables to devotees.

The “utsava murthy” of Lord Krishna is then immersed at Madhwa Sarovara pond marking the culmination of the celebrations.




Recent Article in KARNATAKA

Writers S.G. Siddaramaiah, Manu Chakravarthy and M.H. Krishnaiah are among those chosen for the Karnataka Sahitya Academy awards.

52 chosen for Karnataka Sahitya Academy awards

17 works each chosen for book award for 2010, 2011 »