As many as 248 candidates are in the poll fray

Nominations filed by 248 candidates in 18 Assembly segments in the district for the May 5 polls were found in order and valid, during the scrutiny here on Thursday. Of them, 112 are Independents.

The Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party, Janata Dal (Secular) and Karnataka Janata Paksha have fielded candidates in all the segments.

The BSR Congress has fielded candidates in all segments but one, Yamkanmardi, which is held by Satish L. Jarkiholi, former Minister and Congress MLA, who is also in the fray.

The Bahujan Samaj Party has fielded candidates in 15 segments (they have left out Gokak, Yamkanmardi and Belgaum Rural), while Janata Dal (United) candidates are in the fray in 11 segments. The Nationalist Congress Party candidates are trying their luck in five segments.

The Loksatta Party, the Sarvodaya Karnataka Paksha, the Sarva Janata Paksha, and the Lok Janashakti Paksha have fielded candidates in two constituencies each.

Other parties, such as the Karnataka Swaraj Paksha, the Revolutionary Socialist Party, the Bharatiya Republican Party, the National People Party, the Indian Union Muslim League, the Shiv Sena, Karunadu Party and the Samajwadi Party have fielded one candidate each.