Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman K. Rahman Khan of the Congress, Rajiv Chandrasekhar, independent, the former State BJP president Basavaraj Patil Sedam, and retired IAS officer of Rajasthan cadre and BJP's central election cell convener R Ramakrishna, both BJP, were on Thursday declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Karnataka.

The results were declared by Returning Officer P. Omprakash, who is also the Legislative Assembly Secretary, after the time schedule for withdrawal of nomination was over on Thursday.

As there was no other contestant in the fray for the biennial election, it would not be necessary to hold election earlier scheduled for March 30 for the four vacant seats from the State, he said.

Though four others had filed their nominations, these were rejected during scrutiny, he said.

The term of four Rajya Sabha members — actor Hema Malini and B Shanappa of the BJP, Mr. Khan and Mr.Chandrasekhar — representing the State, comes to close on April 2, 2012.

Mr Khan has been elected to the Upper House of Parliament for the fourth time while Mr. Chandrasekhar has been elected for the second term. Mr. Sedam and Mr. Ramakrishna made their maiden entry to the Rajya Sabha.