Staff Correspondent

MYSORE: The ninth convocation of the Karnataka State Open University (KSOU) will be held at the Senate Hall on the Manasagangotri campus here on March 6.

During the convocation, 7,624 students will receive undergraduate (UG) and postgraduate (PG) degrees. As many as 3,678 of them are women.

The university will confer an honorary D.Litt on Lokayukta N. Santosh Hegde, University Grants Commission Chairman Sukhadeo Thorat, Kannada writer S. Narayana Shetty, and theatre personality B. Jayashree. Addressing a press conference here on Friday, Vice-Chancellor B.A. Vivek Rai said historian and visiting professor of the National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bangalore, S. Settar, would be the chief guest. Governor Rameshwar Thakur would preside over the function. Prof. Rai said 763 candidates would receive their degrees in person. Eleven students will be conferred doctorate. Last year, Ph.Ds were given to a record number of 21 students. Four more candidates might qualify, said Registrar (Evaluation) Ramrathan.

Twenty-four students are to receive gold medals. For the first time in its history, the university will confer two M.Phil degrees, with both recipients being women. Eighteen cash prizes will be presented.