Staff Correspondent

BELLARY: As many as 40 candidates filed their nomination papers on Monday from various Assembly constituencies in the district. The number of papers filed so far is 73. The prominent among them are Sanna Hanumakka, former president of the Bellary Zilla Panchayat, and Deepak Singh, mine owner from Hospet.

Satyavant, K. Gurusiddeshwar, D. Govindaiah, Arogyaswamy, K.V. Subbarao, D.H. Hanumeshappa and Handi Rafiquesab (all independents) and B. Ramaprasad of the Congress filed their papers from Bellary.

G. Honnurappa of the Communist Party of India, Basamma of the Bahujan Samaj Party, C. Raju of the Janata Dal (Secular), and C. Raghu and T. Shivaprakash, both independents, are contesting from Kudligi.

Deepak Singh of the Congress, Tambralli Hussain of the Congress, K. Pompanagowda and G. Kullayappa, both independents, filed their papers from Vijayanagar.

Chandra Nayak of the Bharatiya Janata Party, M.P. Nayak of the Janata Dal (Secular) and independents Dharma Nayak and G. Bullappa filed their nominations from Hadagali.

H. Yerriswamy of the Lok Janshakti Party, K. Nemiraj Nayak of the BJP, L.B.P. Bheema Nayak of the JD(S), Geetabai of the JD(S), Ramanna Harijan of the Congress and M.D. Basappa, an independent, are seeking to be elected from Hagari Bommanahalli.

Chakravarti Nayak of the Janata Dal (United) and Sanna Hanumakka of the Congress filed their papers from Kampli.

B.M. Nagaraj of the Congress, M. Mallikarjun of the JD(S) and Jadeppa, an independent, filed their nominations from Sirguppa. B. Jayanna and N. Gangappa of the BSP, E. Tukaram and H. Lakshman of the Congress, and Venkatesh, an independent, are seeking to be elected from Sandur.