Special Correspondent

Each village will get Rs. 1 crore every year under the scheme

  • Government will adopt 1,000 villages every year for development
  • The scheme is to mark the Suvarna Karnataka celebrations

    MYSORE: Forty-four villages in Mysore district have been identified for the Suvarna Gramodaya programme under which each village will receive Rs. 1 crore for development.

    Under the programme, the Government will adopt 1,000 villages every year to give a thrust to rural development to mark the Suvarna Karnataka celebrations.


    The objective of the programme is to extend amenities to backward villages. Development works include revival of water bodies, removing silt from lakes, water conservation in catchment areas, agriculture, horticulture, forest development, animal husbandry and other related fields.


    Under human resource development, there are projects for improving education, employment training, extending health care facilities, while community development programmes include construction of samudaya bhavans, playgrounds, libraries and special projects for empowerment of women.

    Nine villages in H.D. Kote taluk, six villages in Hunsur, four in K.R. Nagar, six in Mysore, seven in Nanjangud, five in Periyapatana and six villages in T. Narsipur taluks have been covered under the project.

    NGOs' role

    Some local non-governmental organisations have been identified to prepare a blueprint and an action plan within a month to kick-start development works in the villages identified for the scheme.