23 file papers on penultimate day

print   ·   T  T  
SHOW OF STRENGTH: U.T. Khader (centre) of the Congress arriving with his supporters to file his nominations in Mangalore on Monday.
SHOW OF STRENGTH: U.T. Khader (centre) of the Congress arriving with his supporters to file his nominations in Mangalore on Monday.

Staff Correspondent

MANGALORE: Twenty-three candidates filed nominations on the penultimate day of filing papers in Dakshina Kannada district on Monday.

Former Minister B. Ramanath Rai of the Congress from Bantwal and Nazir Ullal of Janata Dal (S) and former MLA U.T. Khader of the Congress from Mangalore filed their nominations on Monday.

Former chief whip in the Assembly K. Vasanth Bangera from the Congress and Thimarody Mahesh Shetty (independent) filed nominations at Belthangady. In Sullia, former MLA Bakila Hukrappa filed papers from the Janata Dal (Secular). Mr. Hukrappa was representing the BJP in 1983.

In Moodbidri, former Minister for Labour K. Amarnath Shetty from the Janata Dal (S) and former MLA K. Abhayachandra Jain of the Congress, Bhaskara (BJP), D.R. Raju (SP) and Mohammad Farooq (Bahujan Samajwadi Party) filed their papers on Monday. B.A. Mohiuddin Bava from the Congress, Mohammad Rafi (independent) and M. Shankar (BJP) filed from Mangalore North. In Mangalore City South, Congress candidate Ivan D’Souza, Janata Dal (United)’s Dharmendra and K. Bhaskar Rao and Vishwanath (independents) filed their nominations.

In Bantwal, P.A. Raheem of BSP entered the fray with Mr. Rai. In Puttur, former MLA Shakuntala T. Shetty, who had filed her nomination from the BJP, filed another nomination as an independent. The official Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Mallika Prasad, Sathish Naik of Congress and Abdul Hameed of BSP also filed nominations there.

13 file papers in Udupi district

Udupi Staff Correspondent reports: As many as 13 candidates filed their nomination papers for the forthcoming Assembly elections in Udupi district on Monday, the penultimate day for filing of nominations.

In a press release by the District Election Officer here, it was stated that the following candidates filed their nominations in Udupi district on Monday: V. Sunil Kumar of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and H. Gopal Bhandary of the Congress party for Karkala Assembly constituency and Pramod Madhwaraj (Congress)-Udupi; Vasanth V. Salian (Congress), Karunakar Prabhu (Samjawadi party) and Bhaskar R. Mendon (BJP) - Kaup Assembly constituency.

Seven candidates, including Gopal Poojary (of Congress), K. Lakshminarayana and Babu Shetty (BJP), Annappa Poojary (Samajawadi Party), M.P. Sridhar, Srinivas Acharya, and Subbanna Shetty (independent) filed their nomination papers for Byndoor Assembly constituency.

There were no papers filed for the Kundapur constituency, the release added.




Recent Article in KARNATAKA

Warning bell over quality of air in Mysuru city

Alarm bells have started ringing over the increasing levels of air pollution in Mysuru, which was considered one of the least polluted ci... »