15 writers get Bhasha-Bharati Samman

print   ·   T  T  
WORD SMITHS: Winners of the Bhasha Bharati Samman Awards for 2004-05 at the Central Institute of Indian Languages (CIIL) in Mysore on Friday.
WORD SMITHS: Winners of the Bhasha Bharati Samman Awards for 2004-05 at the Central Institute of Indian Languages (CIIL) in Mysore on Friday.

Special Correspondent

Writers given award for works in language other than their mother tongue

Only works in languages included in VIII Schedule eligible

MYSORE: The Bhasha-Bharati Samman award for 2004-05 was given away for 15 writers of various languages from throughout the country here on Friday.

Instituted by the Central Institute of Indian Languages (CIIL), the awards are given to encourage people of every region in India to learn the languages of other regions and help promote social cohesion and national integration.

The awards are meant for original writing and translation works of authors of books written by them in any Indian language in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution other than their respective mother tongues, Hindi, Sanskrit and English.

The winners of the Bhasha Bharati Samman awards for 2004-05 for original writings include Usharanjan Bhattacharya whose mother tongue is Bengali and won the award for her work Rabindranath Aru Asam written in Assamese language; Karabi Debbarman (mother tongue: Kokbarak) who wrote Srijane Utsabe in Bengali; Ranganath Tiwari (Marwadi) who is the author of Begum Samru written in Marathi; Hamsa Danagopal (Marathi) for Nalladhor Veenai Seithe in Tamil; Afsar (Urdu) for Valasa in Telugu and Pritpal Singh Betab (Punjabi) who wrote Mauj-E-Reik in Urdu.

Cultural bridge

The CIIL took note of the authors’ contributions and in the context of Usharanjan Bhattacharya’s work in Assamese pointed out that Rabindranath Aru Asam is a commendable work that constructed a solid cultural bridge between Assam and West Bengal.

It deals with diverse subjects like the travels of Rabindranath Tagore throughout Assam, his creations during his stay there and so on. It added a new dimension to the relationship between the Assamese and Bengali-speaking people of Assam.

Karabi Deb Barman’s work Srijane Utsabe comprising 54 poems was reckoned to be original and refreshingly new, both in context and expression. Rangnath Tiwari’s Begam Samaru is a novel about historical situations and historical characters transformed in fictional mode and this book revolves around an inspiring personality of the 18th century who is a powerful character portrayed in the novel.

The author, it was stated, has effectively narrated the conflict between the Mughal States and the British.

Likewise, Hamsa Dhanagopal’s Nalladhor Veenai Seithe is a graphical projection of Tamil village society while Afsar’s Valasa is a collection of 77 poems.

Pritpal Singh Betab’s Mouj-E-Reg is a collection of ghazals having modern sensibility which reflects the versatility of the poet. The winners in the translation category include Praibha Dave, N. Damodar Shetty, R.L. Shant, Ravindra Kelekar, Ramanand Jha “Raman”, Madhavan Ayyappath, Sudarshan Acharya and Loveleen Kaur Jolly.

The last two writers have translated Kannada works into Oriya and Punjabi respectively and the latter’s award came for her translation of Kuvempu’s Kannuru Heggadithi (Kanur Di Heggadithi).

The awards carry a prize money of Rs. 25,000, a shawl and a memento and was given away at a function here on Friday.




Recent Article in KARNATAKA