Staff Correspondent

MYSORE: Eleven candidates, including three rebels, remain in the fray for election to the State Legislative Council from the South Graduates' Constituency after three independent candidates withdrew their nominations on Saturday. The elections to the South Graduates' Constituency are to be held on June 17.

H.N. Narayan Gowda, J.B. Bore Gowda and Leo Michael, all independents, withdrew from the contest leaving 11 candidates to fight the elections. Saturday was the last day for the withdrawal of candidature.

With this, the Congress candidate C.D. Gangadhar, All Indian Progressive Janata Dal (AIPJD) nominee H.A. Venkatesh, Bharatiya Janata Party candidate G.M. Gurnanjaiah and Janata Dal (Secular) nominee P. Sharadamma, besides seven independents will be facing the elections.

Two rebel candidates from Janata Dal (S) H.N. Srikantaiah, a former Mayor of Mysore, and A. Subbanna and the Congress rebel and former MLC, Marithibbe Gowda remain the fray. K. Srinivasmurthy, Arun Kumar, S.S. Kumar and K.P. Mahadev Swamy are contesting as independents.

Nearly 18,000 graduates from Mysore, Mandya, Hassan and Chamarajanagar districts will be exercising their franchise in 34 centres that will be set up for the purpose.