YSR Congress established its hold in villages with candidates supported by it getting elected as sarpanches in 125 of the 217 gram panchayats in 17 mandals that went to polls in the first phase in Kadapa revenue division.

Congress stands


The Congress stood second with its supporters getting elected as sarpanches in 59 panchayats followed by the Telugu Desam Party where its supporters won in 21 panchayats.

Ten sarpanches elected in Yerraguntla mandal could either support the Congress or YSRC. Two sarpanches are however neutral.

It may be recalled that among the 35 panchayats for which the sarpanches were elected unanimously, YSR Congress bagged 17, followed by Congress 9 and Telugu Desam 5.

This takes YSR tally to 142, Congress 68, TDP 26 and four by others in a total of 252 panchayats in Kadapa revenue division.

YSR Congress won most gram panchayats in Kamalapuram constituency represented by Congress MLA G. Veerasiva Reddy and in Khajipet mandal, the native of former Minister D.L. Ravindra Reddy.

The Congress performed well in Kamalapuram, Lakkireddipalle and Veeraballe mandals.

The Telugu Desam won more sarpanch posts than Congress in Sambepalle mandal.