Special Correspondent

Top four ranks in biotechnology bagged by them

Many toppers belong to reserved categories

Vice-Chancellor releases AUCET ranks

VISAKHAPATNAM: Women candidates fared better in Andhra University Common Entrance Test (AUCET) 2009 compared to AUCET 2008 in securing first ranks in test held for different subjects. Women were toppers in 15 out of the 47 tests of AUCET 2009 compared to six out of 38 tests of AUCET 2008.

S. Silpa, who scored 83.75 out of 90 marks in physics test, is the candidate with highest score among all candidates, including men, who appeared for the tests in science and engineering courses.

B. Lakshmi and B. Chris Ankitha recorded a commendable performance by securing first ranks in test for two courses each. Ms. Ankitha topped in tests of biotechnology and MS (molecular biology and biotechnology), a twinning programme with Kansas State University, US while Ms. Lakhsmi secured first rank in geography and also the double degree post-graduate programme of MS (software engineering).

Incidentally the top four in biotechnology test were women candidates. V. Sharanya, P. Alekhya and K. Sri Lakshmi Deepika secured second, third and fourth ranks.

All the top five in test for foods, nutrition and dietetics were women. P. Sandhya, B. Swetha, P. Sowjanya, P. Mega Rajani and H.V.L. Himaja took the top five places in that order.

Toppers of 26 tests, including eight women, belong to reserved categories. D. Venkateswarlu, belonging to ST category, topped the chemistry test.

Test was not held for admission into MA (Hindi) course as number of applications received was less than the number of seats available.

The ranks were released by Vice-Chancellor B. Satyanarayana here on Saturday in the presence of Director of Directorate of Admissions O. Aniel Kumar, Rector B. Parvatheeswara Rao, Principals of campus colleges, Deputy Directors of admission and other officials.

The following are toppers of AUCET 2009 tests: Biochemistry-G. Kishore (BC A catetgory); biotechnology - B. Chris Ankitha (BC C); botany-B. Kumari; chemistry - D. Venkateswarlu (ST); computer science and statistics - P. Rajasekhar; electronics - K. Naresh Kumar (BC D); foods, nutrition and diatics - P. Sandhya; geography - B. Lakshmi; geology - A. Veera V. Krishna; human genetics - Swetha Jain; marine living resources - J. Hemalatha (BC D); microbiology - R.A.L.S.N. Malini (BC A); mathematics - Md. Khuddush (BC E); physics - S. Silpa; statistics - N. Phannedranadh Chowdary; zoology - S.V.S. Varaprasad; commerce - P. Srinivasa Rao (BC D); economics - U. Mallesh (BC B); B.Ed. (special education): biological sciences - T. Divyabharathi (BC B); mathematics - B. Simhadrappadu (BC D) and social sciences - E. Rajesh (BC D); English - Gilby Sandra; Bachelor of Fine Arts - Ponnachan Anoop Daniel; history - R. Rajesh; HRM - P.V. Mano Shilpa (BC B); human rights and duties - Ch. Sirisha Devi; MJMC - I. Srinivasa Rao (BC D); M.Ed. - D. Rajasekhar (SC); library and information sciene - N. Srinivasa Rao (BC D); philosophy - B. Aruna Kumari (BC D); politics and public administration - V. Brahmanaidu (SC); psychology -Valiyamattam Georgitta; Sanskrit - N. Ganapathi Rao (BC A); social work - G. Venkatappala Naidu (BC D); sociology - S.Ramanayya (BC A); Telugu - D. Ramprasad (BC C); M.A. Ed. - K. Venkata Murali (BC B); computer science - D. Sunil Kumar; MS (CSIT, software engineering, civil engineering, mech. engineering and EEE) - Anmol Mohanty; MS (molecular biology and biotechnology) - B. Chris Ankitha (BC C); B. Engg. (aircraft engg.) - Y. Sreedhar (BC D); MS (digital signal processing) - K. Anili Kumar; M.S. (software engg.) - B. Lakshmi (BD D) and M.S. (telecommunication systems) - M. Bharath Kumar.