Staff Reporter

WARANGAL: The town wore a festive look with thousands of workers of both Congress and TDP taking out a rally in support of their candidates contesting for the Legislative Council.

On behalf of Congress, DCC president G. V. Ramana Reddy filed his nomination papers after reaching the district collectorate with his followers in large numbers. Meanwhile, TDP senior leader Ch. Suresh Reddy too came along with important leaders of the party and filed his nomination papers.

Both the leaders were contesting for the Council seat in local bodies' constituency.

However, none of the parties have sufficient numbers of local body representatives required for majority.

The CPI, CPI (M), BJP and TRS would play a key role in the election. The TRS, which has about 98 votes, would be a deciding factor. In the graduates' constituency, K. Dilip Kumar filed his nomination at Nalgonda and in teachers' constituency, retired teacher and leader of Telangana Regional Teachers Union K. Satyanarayana Reddy filed his nomination.

P. Harinder Reddy, a non-resident Indian, and SR Colleges owner A. Varda Reddy are among those contesting in the graduates' constituency from Warangal district as independents.