Visa-on-arrival for tourists from 16 nations soon: Chiru

Special Correspondent
print   ·   T  T  

Union Minister of State for Tourism meets Home Minister Shinde and submits fresh proposals

Union Minister of State for Tourism K. Chiranjeevi has submitted proposals to Union Home Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde, seeking to extend visa-on-arrival for tourists from 16 countries.

Earlier, a ‘Tourist Visa-on-Arrival’ (TVOA) scheme was introduced on a pilot basis for a year from January 1, 2010 for those flying in from Singapore, New Zealand, Luxembourg, Japan and Finland.

Positive impact

On Friday, Mr. Chiranjeevi met Mr. Shinde and submitted the fresh proposals that were chalked out based on an independent study by the Indian Institute of Tourism and Travel Management that said that the TVOA scheme had a positive impact on people choosing India as a travel destination.

The 16 countries proposed now include Germany, France, Spain, Poland, Sweden, Norway, Russia, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Brazil, South Africa, Thailand, Malaysia, Brunei and South Korea.

Six more countries included

Earlier, the TVOA scheme was extended to six more countries – Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, the Philippines, Indonesia and Myanmar – whose tourists would arrive at New Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata airports.


The Tourism Ministry has also proposed extension of the scheme at more airports such as Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Kochi, Goa, Bodh Gaya and Trivandrum.



Recent Article in ANDHRA PRADESH

Congress leader K. Chiranjeevi waving to the crowd at a day-long protest programme held in Guntur on Saturday. PCC president N. Raghuveera Reddy and MP T. Subbarami Reddy are seen.Photo: T. Vijaya Kumar

Congress fires salvo at Centre

Demands conferment of Special Category Status on State »