HYDERABAD: Within hours of joining the Lok Satta Party on Sunday, educationist Lavu Rathaiah was named the party candidate from Malkajgiri Lok Sabha constituency.

Dr. Rathaiah, founder of Vignan Group of Educational Institutionsformally joined the LSP in the presence of its national president N. Jayaprakash Narayan.

Announcing his candidature from Malkajgiri LS constituency, Dr. Narayan said Dr. Rathaiah’s presence in the electoral fray would change in the equations. Speaking to reporters, Dr. Rathaiah said he had offers from different political parties but preferred to join the LSP because of its policies and dedication to bring about change in the attitude of people, particularly the youth.

Fifth list

Meanwhile, LSP announced the fifth list of candidates for 20 Assembly and five parliamentary constituencies. The candidates are: Dr. Raghuveer Reddy (Chevella), L. Rathaiah (Malkajgiri), Vidyasagar (Nagarkurnool SC), S. Manorama (Narasapur) and Jupalli Satyanarayana (Khammam).