HYDERABAD: Former Union minister Ch. Vidyasagar Rao is among the 57 Assembly and seven Lok Sabha candidates named by the BJP in its second list here on Tuesday.

State BJP President Bandaru Dattatreya, releasing the list at a press conference after the Parliamentary Board’s approval, said only one seat would be allotted to a candidate, indicating that Mr. Rao would not be fielded for the Karimnagar Lok Sabha seat which he had won in 1998 and ‘99, but lost in 2004.

A party source said that Mr. Rao was preferred for Vemulawada seat as a matter of strategy, as the party was keen to increase its presence in the Assembly.

Mr. Dattatretya confirmed that the name of U.V. Krishnam Raju figured among the probable candidates for the Narsapur Lok Sabha seat.

The party was yet to decide on the nominees for the Narsapur and Karimnagar Lok Sabha constituencies. Replying to a question, he claimed that Mr. Raju continued to be in BJP. He asserted that the party was far ahead of others and had already named candidates for 100 constituencies.

The second list of Assembly nominees contained six women, 11 BCs, 12 SCs and an ST. While a woman, two BCs and one each representing SC and ST communities were among the eight Lok Sabha candidates.

LS candidates

Vijayawada city unit president Laka Vengalrao Yadav was among the seven candidates named for the Lok Sabha seats.

The others are: Tukaram ( Adilabad-ST), P. Nirup (Medak), Sriram Vedire (Nalgonda), Duppala Ravindra Babu (Srikakulam), Bhogadi Ramadevi (Machilipatnam) and Battula Rosaiah (Bapatla-SC).

Mr. Dattatreya said many youngsters, BCs, SCs, and STs, attracted by the party’s agenda were seeking tickets. The State Election Committee would finalise the names of eight LS and 35 Assembly candidates late on Tuesday night.