Staff Reporter

KHAMMAM: Two MLAs of the CPI Kunamneni Sambhasiva Rao (Kothagudem) and Chandravathi (Wyra) tendered their resignations on Friday and declared their support to the agitation for separate Telangana.

Both the resignation letters addressed to the Speaker of the Assembly were forwarded to the State secretary of the party.

Puvvada decision

CPI national council member and MLC Puvvada Nageswara Rao is likely to follow suit. Mr. Rao, who is at Bangalore to attend the national council meeting, said he would take a decision after coming back to Khammam.

Congress blamed

Mr. Sambhasiva Rao said that the dilatory tactics adopted by the Congress on the Telangana issue had played havoc with the life and economy in the State.

He said that the elected representatives of the CPI had resolved to quit their posts to express solidarity with those in the forefront of the agitation. The party central leadership had already made its stand clear on the demand for separate Telangana.