Today's Paper Archive Classifieds Subscriptions RSS Feeds Site Map ePaper Mobile Apps Social

TRS proves its strength in first phase of PR polls

Staff Reporter
Share  ·   print   ·  

Slips to third place in Gajwel constituency

Wooing game:Campaining for panchayat elections on at Sangareddy in Medak.- PHOTO: MOHD ARIF
Wooing game:Campaining for panchayat elections on at Sangareddy in Medak.- PHOTO: MOHD ARIF

As expected, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) proved its strength in the first phase of panchayat polling, for which the results were declared on Tuesday.

It was able to secure the first place pushing both the ruling Congress party and the opposition Telugu Desam party to second and third places. According to statistics, there are 304 panchayats in 13 mandals spread over three assembly constituencies – Siddipet, Dubbak and Gajwel – of Siddipet division.

Out of them, 24 panchayats elected their sarpanches unanimously with polling conducted for 280. Out of these, the TRS won 143 seats, followed by Congress 74, Telugu Desam 39, BJP three and others 44. Some of the ‘others’ may join either TRS or Congress at a later stage and increase their tally substantially.From the beginning, the Siddipet assembly constituency is a stronghold for the TRS being represented by T. Harish Rao, deputy floor leader of the party in the Assembly, and earlier by party president K. Chandrasekhar Rao.

Mr. Harish made all out efforts to see that majority seats in his constituency would be in the party’s kitty. The party was able to win 65 out of the 75 panchayats in the constituency leaving five for Congress, one each for TDP and BJP followed by three independents.

But Dubbak, being represented by Ch. Muthyam Reddy, another stronghold of the TRS, the ruling party, was able to increase its tally to 24 panchayats though it stood in second place with TRS winning 48 out of 101 panchayats.

The situation was different in Gajwel constituency being represented by T. Narsa Reddy.

TRS was pushed to third place (30 panchayats) with Congress (45 panchayats) gaining the upper hand followed by the Opposition Telugu Desam (36 panchayats). At Wargal, the native village of Narsa Reddy, TDP candidate Srinivas Reddy was able to win the elections with a huge margin of 500 votes.



Recent Article in ANDHRA PRADESH

GLAM TOUCH:Film actor and TDP Hindupur Assembly constituency nominee, Balakrishna, taking an oath at the District Collector's office in Anantapur on Wednesday.- PHOTO: R.V.S. PRASAD

Balakrishna gears up for the big battle

Files nomination papers amid much fanfare in Hindupur »