Staff Reporter

Kakinada: Winning Kakinada Lok Sabha seat is going to be a daunting task for Telugu Desam Party as its candidate Vasamsetti Satyanarayana has a strong rival in M.M Pallam Raju of Congress, while Chalamalasetti Sunil, whose candidature is almost confirmed by Praja Rajyam Party, makes the contest much more difficult.

Mr. Pallam Raju, who is an engineering professional, was elected twice Member of Parliament from Kakinada in 1989 and 2004 whereas both his competitors are first-timers in politics. Mr. Sunil is an NRI industrialist who has been enthused by the policies of PRP and Mr. Satyanarayana is a post-graduate in computer science who defected to the TDP from PRP due to personal differences.

As regards the parties’ performance, TDP has won the seat four times after its formation. It won the seat in 1999 (Mudragada Padmanabham), 1996 (Thota Gopalakrishna), 1991 (Thota Subba Rao) and 1984 (Thota Gopalakrishna). Congress won in 2004 and 1989, on both the occasions it was Mr. Pallam Raju who was the victorious candidate.

Congress party is seeking re-election on the development plank, while the TDP is harping on the anti-incumbency factor to trounce its traditional rival. The new entrant PRP is trying to take advantage of having in the constituency a substantial number of voters who belong to the same social sect as its founder Chiranjeevi belongs. For the time being, it appears to be a tough fight between Congress and PRP.