Three-fold increase in area under metro authority

print   ·   T  T  

Staff Reporter

The idea is to ensure planned development of urban agglomeration, says HUDA Vice-Chairman

HYDERABAD: With the Government in principle agreeing to the expansion of jurisdiction of the Hyderabad Urban Development Authority (HUDA) by setting up Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority (HMDA), the area under the jurisdiction of the new body will increase three-fold.

HUDA Vice-Chairman Jayesh Ranjan said the idea was to ensure scientific and regulated development in view of the fast expansion and growth of the twin cities and its surrounding areas. It was the model adopted in all other metropolitan cities and, "we at Hyderabad too have to upgrade ourselves in tune with the pace of development," he said.

Three-tier structure

More importantly, the new body would have planning as well as enforcement powers and it would incorporate and involve local bodies in the new three-tier structure.

It would have powers to take stringent action against violators of norms and confiscate illegal layouts.

The administration would be decentralised and the planning staff would be incorporated from panchayats, district-level boards, local bodies.

They would be supported by the central office and made accountable for enforcement of norms and regulations in their respective areas.

The present extent of Hyderabad Metropolitan region with four UDAs and Cantonment covered an extent of 2,197 and now it was proposed to include an additional area of 4,655

The population in the HMDA would be 78 lakhs, with 13 lakh population being brought newly under its fold.

The HMDA would function in coordination with the proposed Greater Hyderabad Corporation.

Proposed jurisdiction

The proposed jurisdiction would cover 54 mandals in five districts: Hyderabad (all 16 mandals); Medak - 10 mandals - Toopran, Vargal, Shivampet, Jinnaram, Narsapur, RC puram, Patancheru, Mulugu, Hatnur (part) and Sangareddy; Ranga Reddy -22 mandals - Shankarpalli, Serilingampally, Balanagar, Qutbullapur, Medchal, Shameerpet, Malkajgiri, Keesara, Ghatkesar, Uppal, Hayathnagar, Saroornagar, Rajendranagar, Moinabad, Chevella, Shabad, Shamshabad, Mahewsaram, Ibrahimpatnam, Kandukur, part of Yacharam and part of Manchal; part of Mahboobnagar -- two mandals -- Kothur and part of Farooknagar; and part of Nalgonda -- four mandals -- Chotuppal, Bibinagar, Bhuvanagiri and Bommalaramaram.

Focus on good governance

A three-tier structure would be formed for good governance of HMDA with Chief Minister as Chairman, the Minister for Municipal Administration and Urban Development as Vice-Chairman, a non-official as Deputy Chairman, and a Chief Executive Officer would head administration.

An executive committee would have a high-ranking government official, experts on environment, transportation, planning, etc.



Recent Article in ANDHRA PRADESH

Additional laddu-boondi conveyor belt installed

For a faster manufacturing of the saccharine laddu balls and transportation of the same to the selling counters situated outside the main... »