Exercise aimed at taking revenue administration closer to people

Fulfilling its promise, the government on Wednesday created as many as 10 revenue divisions in seven districts of the State with a view to taking the revenue administration closer to the people.

With this, the number of revenue divisions will go up to 89 in the State.

The government issued a set of seven orders, providing for carving out the new divisions out of the existing ones.

Each of the new revenue divisions, like in the case of the existing ones, would be headed by a revenue divisional officer (RDO).

Among the new revenue divisions are Rajendranagar and Malkajgiri, both in Ranga Reddy district.

The others are: Gurajala, (Guntur district), Devarakonda (Nalgonda), Ramachandrapuram (East Godavari), Anakapalli (Visakhapatnam), Atmakur and Naidupet (both in Nellore), Kalyandurg and Kadiri (both in Anantapur).

Revenue Minister N. Raghuveera Reddy told this correspondent from Bhadrachalam shortly after the orders were issued, that a cluster of villages, now under an existing revenue division, would be brought under a new one. This arrangement would certainly decentralise the administration and take it closer to the people.

He said orders would also be issued soon to create 25 new revenue tehsils, each headed by a tehsildar, as promised by the government.

Most of these tehsils would be in urban agglomerations.

Exercise aimed at bringing revenue administration closer to people, says Minister N. Raghuveera Reddy